Get in touch

Job Search

Search for Teaching Jobs in England

UK Accommodation

We know how challenging it can be to find accommodation when you first arrive in the UK, so we’ve compiled a list of recommended sites for you to browse short term and long term options for accommodation in London and across the UK.

Whichever option you choose to search on for a place to stay, please be smart and be aware of internet fraud and scams, particularly when asked to transfer money.

Where To Start?

A great place to start is by contacting your local consultant; they can recommend areas to live (and, importantly, areas to avoid!)

It is also recommended that you jump onto our Facebook page and post on there; our aim is to create a community of teachers not only when you arrive to teach in the UK but also before you leave! Post your questions, accommodation suggestions and get in touch with other like-minded Aussie teachers who are packing their bags to teach in England at the same time as you! Who knows - you might be able to arrange a great group of potential flatmates before you leave Australia!

Arrive Homes

Protocol Education has teamed up with Arrive Homes, a company specialising in finding accommodation for teachers and other professionals in London. Please see the Arrive Homes website for the latest availabilities. Arrive Homes often help teachers out prior to arrival, as well as upon arrival in the UK.

Accommodation London

Protocol Education has also teamed up with Accommodation London, who deal with both short-term and long-term accommodation exclusively for overseas trained teachers. We can even offer you £25 off your first rent pay with them! Accommodation London specialises in properties in the North-West region of London, and also offer hostel accommodation for when you land!

The Dictionary Hostel

Award winning and fiercely independent, The Dictionary Hostel is one of the newest additions in London. Fully opened in August 2013 has already been featured in The Sunday Times as the "bunk down at the best". Home to backpackers, interns, groups, students and newcomers to London, The Dictionary is dedicated to providing each and every one of its guests the very best in customer service.

HFS London

Offer homestay accommodation for people coming from overseas to enable them to ‘find their feet’ and have a ‘home away from home’ experience for perhaps a few weeks before they find something more permanent.

Kangaroom

Claim to be the world's largest source of spare rooms and flatshares. It searches three different flatshare websites and collates them all into a map-based platform.

Roomzzz Aparthotel

They have taken all the best features of boutique hotels, taken all the best things about services apartments and created luxury hotels in Leeds, Manchester & Newcastle. Chester & Nottingham is scheduled to open in April 2015.

Stay for one night or stay for one year, you will enjoy the perfect space to work, relax and live.

www.roomzzz.co.uk or email lauren@roomzzz.co.uk

Watch this space for a discount!

 

England Short Term Stays:

Air BnB:  www.airbnb.com
Booking.com: www.booking.com
Hostel Bookers: www.hostelbookers.com
LateRooms: www.laterooms.com
Hostel World:  www.hostelworld.com

England Long Term Stays:

House Pals: www.housepals.co.uk
Zoopla: www.zoopla.co.uk
Rightmove: www.rightmove.co.uk
Prime Location: www.primelocation.com
Elite Lettings: www.elitelettings.com
Flat Share: www.flatshare.com
Spare Room: www.spareroom.com
Room Buddies: www.roombuddies.co.uk

London Short Term Stays:

Air BnB:  www.airbnb.com
Booking.com: www.booking.com
Hostel Bookers: www.hostelbookers.com
LateRooms: www.laterooms.com
Hostel World:  www.hostelworld.com
Room Paddy: www.roompaddy.com
Equity Point: www.equity-point.com
Generator: http://generatorhostels.com/en/
YHA King’s Cross: http://www.yha.org.uk/hostel/london-st-pancras
Piccadilly Guest House: http://www.piccadillyguesthouse.com
The Dictionary Hostel: http://www.thedictionaryhostel.com/
University of London Halls: http://halls.london.ac.uk/
HFS London: http://www.hfslondon.com/
Travel Stay: www.travelstay.com

London Long Term Stays:

University Rooms: www.universityrooms.com
Arrive Homes: www.arrivehomes.com
London Shared: www.londonshared.co.uk
Accommodation London: www.accommodationlondon.net
Spare Room: www.spareroom.co.uk
Sterling De Vere: www.sterlingdevere.com
City University London: www.city.ac.uk
Studios2let: www.studios2let.com
Room Hunters: www.roomhunters.co.uk
Capital Living: www.capitalliving.co.uk
Easy Roommate: http://uk.easyroommate.com/
Interlet: www.interlet.com
Find a Flat: www.findaflat.com
Move Flat: www.moveflat.com
Flat Share: www.flatshare.com
Room Buddies: www.roombuddies.co.uk
Into London: www.intolondon.com
The Collective Ltd.: www.thecollectiveltd.co.uk
 

Want to hear what other teachers are asking? Want our advice?

Places can come and go quite quickly so always keep on top of what’s newly available and use key search terms to narrow your search. 

Many teachers opt to pre-book temporary accommodation, and begin their search for permanent accommodation after they have landed. You can pre-book for long term accommodation before you arrive, but make sure that this is through a reputable company like Arrive Homes or London Shared. You may find it difficult to do this through a lettings agency or real estate agent.

London is big on shared housing as its too costly for most to get your own flat, so look for professional shared housing options when searching for the right place. Make sure to ask: ‘What is included in the rent?’ Ask about the fees involved, the terms of your let agreement, and whether a place is furnished or has bills included. If there are no bills included, ask for an approximate cost per month. Expect to pay a deposit upfront, which is the same as ‘your first and last’ or paying your ‘bond’.

A room within a house share in London, between zones 2-5, for £600 (average) with bills included is what you want to aim for as its affordable, allowing you to have savings and spending money left at the end of a month if you are working full-time. If you find something less, then great! If not, then you’ve likely either gotten a raw deal or a very nice space for living! Either way, it’s the size of the place and its location that you essentially pay for in London and elsewhere in the UK, the latter being less.

Protocol Education Blog

OCTOBER 2017 | "Your teaching agency needs to be transparent"
Jacqui is an Aussie teacher who has just returned from her 2 years in the UK. She got in touch with Mitch from the Sydney office and has been able to...
Read More

AUGUST 2017 | Aussie Dollar vs British Pound
Mitch Jones is Protocol Education’s NSW-based consultant working with Australian teachers in their move to the UK. In his latest blog he chats...
Read More

JUNE 2017 | Taking a long term approach to teaching
Alyce is an Aussie Primary teacher who took part in our September 2016 round of 'Interviews with a UK Principal.' Rather than start her role...
Read More

MAY 2017 | Been to London, Bought the T-Shirt, Back in Sydney
Brad is an Aussie teacher who has just returned to Sydney after spending nearly 2 years living and teaching with Protocol in London! Fair to say he’s...
Read More

A Teacher's Journey to London
Stephanie is a teacher originally from Canada, and in this latest blog she wants to give some advice (and hopefully inspiration) to other teachers from...
Read More